Executive Board

Our Executive Board is responsible for the coordination of the Centre. In this its aims are:

  • To develop and implement strategy for the CRUK Barts Centre
  • To determine and monitor the expenditure of CRUK’s core funding, defining the posts required to ensure efficient, general support for the Centre and deciding on major capital investment
  • To actively seek and recruit new senior faculty for the CRUK Barts Centre
  • To monitor the progress of the five theme groups
  • To ensure the proper running of the non-clinical and clinical training programme and monitor student/staff performance
  • To foster collaboration toward securing programme, project grant and fellowship funding
  • To support senior staff in the performance management of the CRUK Barts Centre
  • To determine the distribution of funds available for development and sustainment of the CRUK Barts Centre
  • To ensure local engagement with the external community
Executive Board Members
Chairman & Champion- Cancers of Unmet Need Professor Nick Lemoine
Deputy Chair & Theme Co-Lead Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke
Academic Members:
Centre Lead & Theme Co-Lead Professor Frances Balkwill
Centre Lead & Theme Lead Professor Jack Cuzick
Theme Lead Professor Stephen Duffy
Theme Lead Professor Jude Fitzgibbon
Centre Lead Professor John Gribben
Centre Lead, Core Services Director & Theme Co-lead Professor John Marshall
Clinical Training Lead Dr Michelle Lockley
Centre Lead Professor Peter Schmid
Centre Lead & Theme Co-Lead Professor Tyson Sharp
Non-Academic Members (no voting rights):
CRUK Barts Centre Core Services Manager Mr Vipul Bhakta
Deputy Institute Manager, Wolfson Institute of Population Health Ms Tracy Connelly
Head of Research Computing Mr Jonathan Croft
Secretariat Ms Laura Odell
CRUK Barts Centre Manager Dr Delphine Purves
Deputy Manager / HR Dr Sabari Vallath
Deputy Manager / Training Programmes Ms Kaye Yeung

Governance Board

The Governance Board will oversee, develop, adjust, approve and drive the strategy of the Centre, including training programmes.  Meetings will provide a decision-making forum to enable the Centre to take advantage of strategically important opportunities and challenges, and discuss strategy for recruitments to the Centre.  The Governance Board will provide assurances and objectives for the delivery of the Centre strategy, as well as the Centre’s progress in delivering branding, press and research engagement activities to meet CRUK’s expectations. It will also allow the Centre to review financial opportunities and key initiatives put forward by funding bodies and the Centre’s responses to them.

CRUK Barts Centre Director Professor Nick Lemoine
CRUK Barts Centre, Deputy Director of the Barts Cancer Institute Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke
CRUK Barts Centre, Theme Co-Lead Cancer Prevention & Risk Reduction Professor Jack Cuzick
CRUK Barts Centre, Director of St Bartholomew’s Cancer Centre, NHS Professor Thomas Powles
CRUK Barts Centre, Postgraduate Research Training Lead Dr Sarah-Anne Martin
CRUK Barts Centre, Patient & Public representative Dr Marta Buszewicz
CRUK Barts Centre, Centre Manager Dr Delphine Purves
CRUK Barts Centre, Training Programmes Manager Ms Kaye Yeung

Queen Mary University of London representative - Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Vice Principal (Health)

Chief Operating Officer

Professor Steve Thornton

Dr Robert Bennett

CRUK Scientific Advisor Dr David Scott
CRUK Head of Centres and Institutes TBC
CRUK Senior Research Funding Manager - Centres and Institutes Ms Gemma Balmer
CRUK Research Engagement Officer (for specific items relating to branding and engagement) TBC
Secretariat Ms Laura Odell

Our Research and Academic staff are supported in their work by teams of professional and administrative staff. For more information on Queen Mary's Governance and Council members please visit the Queen Mary University of London page.

Director's Office

Professor Nick Lemoine Institute Director
Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke Deputy Director
Dr Delphine Purves Institute Manager
Ms Kaye Yeung Deputy Institute Manager
Dr Sabari Vallath Deputy Institute Manager
Mr Jonathan Croft Head of Research Computing
Ms Laura Odell Office Manager/PA to the Director
Ms Veneta Giragosyan Administrator

Teaching Centre

Dr Sarah Martin, Dr Andrejs Braun Postgraduate Teaching Lead
Professor Richard Grose Undergraduate Teaching Lead
Professor Bijendra Patel Clinical Senior Lecturer

Laboratory Managers

Mr Vipul Bhakta (Principal Laboratory Manager)  
Mr Eamonn Morrison

Centre for Cancer Biomarkers and Biotherapeutics

Centre for Cancer Cell & Molecular Biology

Centre for Tumour Biology

Ms Marjia Monsur Centre for Experimental Cancer Medicine
Dr Rebecca Gresham

Centre for Cancer Genomics & Computational Biology

Centre for Haemato-Oncology

Centre for Tumour Microenvironment