Paper of the Month

We like to recognise the huge amounts of work and creativity that go into carrying out and publishing great cancer research.
One way we do this is through our Paper of the Month award, which is decided by the CRUK Barts Centre Executive Board.
Take a look at our winning papers below:


Paper of the Month, July 2020

Transition to naïve human pluripotency mirrors pan-cancer DNA hypermethylation
Winner: Hemalvi Patani & Gabriela Ficz

Hemalvi Patani, Michael D. Rushton, Jonathan Higham, Saul A. Teijeiro, David Oxley, Pedro Cutillas,Duncan Sproul & Gabriella Ficz

Nat Commun 11, 3671 (2020).

Paper of the Month archive

A PI3K- and GTPase-independent Rac1-mTOR mechanism mediates MET-driven anchorage-independent cell growth but not migration

Winner: Stephanie Kermorgant

Sci Signal (2020) 13(637):eaba8627. doi: 10.1126/scisignal.aba8627. 

Cancer Burden Is Controlled by Mural Cell-β3-Integrin Regulated Crosstalk With Tumor Cells

Winner: Ping-Pui Wong, José M Muñoz-Félix & Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke

Cell (2020) May 28;S0092-8674(20)30147-1. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2020.02.003. Online ahead of print.

A case-control evaluation of 143 single nucleotide polymorphisms for breast cancer risk stratification with classical factors and mammographic density

Winner: Adam Brentnall

Int J Cancer. 2020 Apr 15;146(8):2122-2129. doi: 10.1002/ijc.32541. Epub 2019 Jul 13.

Cancer associated fibroblast FAK regulates malignant cell metabolism

Winner: Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke & Fevzi Demircioglu 

Nat Commun. 2020 Mar 10;11(1):1290. doi: 10.1038/s41467-020-15104-3.

Pembrolizumab for Early Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

Winner: Peter Schmid

N Engl J Med (2020) Feb 27;382(9):810-821. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1910549.

Reconstructing kinase network topologies from phosphoproteomics data reveals cancer-associated rewiring.

Winner: Pedro Cutillas

Nat Biotechnol (2020) Jan 20. doi: 10.1038/s41587-019-0391-9. [Epub ahead of print].

Capivasertib Plus Paclitaxel Versus Placebo Plus Paclitaxel As First-Line Therapy for Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer: The PAKT Trial.

Winner: Peter Schmid

J Clin Oncol (2019) Dec 16:JCO1900368. doi: 10.1200/JCO.19.00368. [Epub ahead of print].

Use of anastrozole for breast cancer prevention (IBIS-II): long-term results of a randomised controlled trial.

Winner: Jack Cuzick 

Lancet (2019) Dec 11. pii: S0140-6736(19)32955-1. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(19)32955-1. [Epub ahead of print]

A Virus-Infected, Reprogrammed Somatic cell-derived Tumor cell (VIReST) vaccination regime can prevent initiation and progression of pancreatic cancer.

Winner: Yaohe Wang

Clin Cancer Res (2019) pii: clincanres.1395.2019. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-19-1395.

A Cost-effectiveness Analysis of Multigene Testing for All Patients With Breast Cancer.

Winner: Li Sun & Ranjit Manchanda

JAMA Oncol (2019) Oct 3. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2019.3323.

Casein kinase 1 family proteins promote Slimb-dependent Expanded degradation.

Winner: Paulo Ribeiro

Elife (2019) Sep 30;8. pii: e46592. doi: 10.7554/eLife.46592.

Fulvestrant Plus Vistusertib vs Fulvestrant Plus Everolimus vs Fulvestrant Alone for Women With Hormone Receptor-Positive Metastatic Breast Cancer: The MANTA Phase 2 Randomized Clinical Trial.

Winner: Peter Schmid

JAMA Oncol. 2019 Aug 29. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2019.2526. [Epub ahead of print]

The integrin αvβ6 drives pancreatic cancer through diverse mechanisms and represents an effective target for therapy

Winner: Claire Reader and John Marshall

J Pathol. 2019 Jul 1. doi: 10.1002/path.5320. [Epub ahead of print]

Tumor angiogenesis is differentially regulated by phosphorylation of endothelial cell focal adhesion kinase tyrosines-397 and -861

Winner: Ana-Rita Pedrosa and Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke

Cancer Research. June 12, 2019 doi: 10.1158/0008-5472.CAN-18-3934

Targeting the RNA m6A Reader YTHDF2 Selectively Compromises Cancer Stem Cells in Acute Myeloid Leukaemia

Winner: Kamil Kranc

Cell Stem Cell. 2019 Jul 3;25(1):137-148.e6. doi: 10.1016/j.stem.2019.03.021. Epub 2019 Apr 25.

Pembrolizumab plus Axitinib versus Sunitinib for Advanced Renal-Cell Carcinoma.

Winner: Tom Powles

N Engl J Med (2019) Mar 21;380(12):1116-1127. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1816714. Epub 2019 Feb 16.

A Phase I study of pegylated arginine deiminase (pegargiminase), cisplatin and pemetrexed in argininosuccinate synthetase 1-deficient recurrent high-grade glioma

Winner: Peter W. Szlosarek

Clin Cancer Res (2019) Feb 22. pii: clincanres.3729.2018. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-18-3729. [Epub ahead of print]

Regional Activation of Myosin II in Cancer Cells Drives Tumor Progression via a Secretory Cross-Talk with the Immune Microenvironment

Winner: Victoria Sanz-Moreno

Cell (2019), 176, 1–18 (article online ahead of press)

Inter- and intra-tumoral heterogeneity in cancer-associated fibroblasts of human pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma

Winner: Cindy Neuzillet & Hemant M. Kocher

J Pathol (2018) Dec 21. doi: 10.1002/path.5224. [Epub ahead of print]

Oxidative Stress in Cells with Extra Centrosomes Drives Non-Cell-Autonomous Invasion

Winner: Theresa Arnandis & Susana Godinho

Dev Cell (2018) Nov 19;47(4):409-424.e9. doi: 10.1016/j.devcel.2018.10.026.

Prp8 regulates oncogene-induced hyperplastic growth in Drosophila

Winner: Cecilia H. Fernández-Espartero & Paulo S. Ribeiro

Development (2018) Oct 17. pii: dev.162156. doi: 10.1242/dev.162156. [Epub ahead of print]

Atezolizumab and Nab-Paclitaxel in Advanced Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

Winner: Peter Schmid

N Engl J Med (2018) Oct 20. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1809615. [Epub ahead of print]

Long-term Clinical Outcomes and Biomarker Analyses of Atezolizumab Therapy for Patients With Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer: A Phase 1 Study

Winner: Peter Schmid

JAMA Oncol (2018) Sep 13. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2018.4224. [Epub ahead of print]

The evolutionary landscape of colorectal tumorigenesis

Winner: Will Cross & Trevor Graham

Nat Ecol Evol (2018) Aug 31. doi: 10.1038/s41559-018-0642-z. [Epub ahead of print]